Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

When leggings don't suck

12/03/2009 | When leggings don't suck

8/17/2007

Leggings done right

Leggings - to some, the arbiter of all that is evil in fashion, to others, comfy loungewear appropriate for a little proud warrior pose, and to still more, a brilliant way to jazz up a distressed denim mini and Uggs (gagging quietly). As much as people may instantly recoil at their mere mention, I really do believe that they can work. However this alleged "working" is delicately hinged upon a few key factors. First, they simply cannot be paired with a legitimate dress or skirt. I pretty much only think they look satisfactory when paired with obscenely short "dresses" and slouchy Olsen-friendly shirts. Why this is, I am not sure, and many will likely disagree. So it lies. Second, their obnoxious factor is downgraded by at least 44% when they are worn with boots, so as to allow them to masquerade as peculiarly thick tights. Thirdly. Some people look ridiculous in Charlotte York-ish curve-hugging, '50s-reminiscent dresses. Some people look ridiculous when in skintight leg-garb. That is all.

1) Here Lily Donaldson dashes about the pages of Vogue in an ensemble that could easily look victim-y, what with the oversized sunnies, slouchy beanie, semi-complicated scarf, white leggings, and ankle boots. But the subdued, color-lacking palette silences the number of accessories and lends more of a hip globetrotter effect. The too-short-for-bare-legs black dress is the perfect simple canvas with which to work and allows the focus to be drawn to the white leggings and extremely desirable ankle boots. A ferocious thumbs up.

2) So Lohan is hardly an admirable figure, especially as of late, and I care infinitely more about her fashion choices than her err lifestyle but I sort of felt personally wronged by her recent appearance in her True Religion distressed jeans which felt dated in 2005. But here we examine a now-vintage photo of Lohan leaving a photo shoot or some such thing. I love her longish metallic open-knit sweater, simple gray underlayer, Lanvin envelope bag, and her sorely-missed brunette locks. Comfy, cute, and hip, in my book. Even though I'm kind of sick of ballet flats in association with leggings and tights, these look cute and not too try-hard. But mostly I just want her bag.

3/4) Of course, my favorite Olsen would nail this look. She keeps everything toned down in gray and black to showcase the silhouette - simple black topper, gray underneath, sunnies (love that touch of neon on the right), and the ever-controversial Balenciaga boots. Love the length of the gray cardi and cropped leather jacket and I would and have definitely concocted outfits of similar proportions.

5) The inclusion of this picture will probably cast me into the pool of don't-listen-to-anything-she-says, ever. But I will forever hold a soft spot for this outfit, as it was one of the first back in '04 or '05 that made me notice Sienna Miller. How I miss the days when I coveted every last thing she wore (seriously, what happened to her style post-Jude?) - anyway, she has my formula right of not too long, not too short top, this one by Matthew Williamson. Love the boho peacock print and though I confess I wouldn't really wear those boots, at all, she looks pretty darn cute, even from the back. Admit it.

Rumi

20:09 Publié dans Fashion Toast | Lien permanent | Commentaires (0) |  Facebook

Les commentaires sont fermés.